A More Perfect Union by Carsen Taite

A sexy soldier… Yes, please!!!

What was the book about?:

Political fixer, Rook Daniels, can fix any problem and make her client come out on top after any scandal. She’s married to her job and hasn’t got time for love or commitment. In walks Lt. Colonel Zoey Granger and does more than turn Rook’s head. Zoey is coming off a big military scandal, and when she meets Rook, she doesn’t expect the sparks to fly.

When both Zoey and Rook end up working together on a political investigation involving the military, the more time they spend together, the less they can ignore the chemistry building between them. But will their jobs and work ethics stand in their way?

Featured Tropes: Military, Lawyer, Mystery, Opposites Attracted

Book Strengths:
Carsen Taite is the go-to author for anything to do with the law. And while this book touched on the law, it focused on the Military and crime more. I really enjoyed this book and found myself really embedded in and focused on the backstory as much as the romance.

Book weaknesses:
I think this book was great, but it really needed (In my opinion) an epilogue. I know this is a bugbear with me, but I can’t help it if I want more of the happily ever after… right?

Character Chemistry:
Character chemistry was excellent, and I think with such an intricate background story going on, it was remarkable that Carsen Taite didn’t lose the character’s romance in that and still kept it at the front and centre of the storyline. Also, both Zoey and Rook were smashing characters, and I hope they appear as secondary characters in other books.
Heat Rating: 🔥🔥🔥

A great book that kept me on my toes from start to finish!

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Screen Shot 2019-07-05 at 9.30.08 pm

If you would like to purchase A More Perfect Union please follow the links below:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon UK

 

Reviewed at Les Revêur (1)

 

 

 

Advertisements

Living by Lise Gold

One of the best books I have ever read!

What was the book about?:

Ella Temperly has been an actress her entire life. For the past two years, she has been suffering from severe depression from the death of her twin sister. The book begins with her reaching her breaking point and attempts suicide. Enter Cam Saunders. She rescues Ella from drowning. Six months and lots of therapy later, Ella decides to reach out to Cam. Cam and Ella have to navigate their feelings for each other while the paparazzi speculate about their relationship.

Featured Tropes: Friends to Lovers, Celebrity Romance, Mental Health, (trigger for suicide attempt)

Book Strengths:

The writing is incredible, the story is fresh and unique, and the characters are so well developed. This is a story that will stick with you for a long time to come. Honestly, there is not one thing to dislike about this book, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Character Chemistry:

From the moment they meet, even under the dire circumstances of Ella’s suicide attempt, the chemistry was there. Cam’s patience with Ella makes you love her, and Ella finally exploring her sexuality makes the romance sweet and exciting.

Heat Rating: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Lise Gold never disappoints and this book is her best yet!

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Screen Shot 2019-07-05 at 9.28.50 pm

If you would like to buy this book please follow the links below:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon AU

Reviewed at Les Revêur (25)

The Ashford Place by Jean Copeland

Something a little different from Jean Copeland.

What was the book about?
Belle Ashford inherits her family home and she has big plans for the refurb over the summer. When she discovers some details about a teenager and some foul play, she needs to investigate. And who better to help the investigation but Deputy Sheriff, Ally Yates.

As Ally and Belle spend more time together, they realise their chemistry. But Belle is leaving to head back to her life? Or Is she?

Featured Tropes:
Mystery, Crime, Romance, Cops

Book Strengths:
I have been a fan of Jean Copeland since I was thrown through a wonderful loop by reading The Second Wave, so I am always excited when she publishes something new. This story was great and the characters were explored well, as was the story. I reckon I became more gripped the more Ally and Belle discovered, and I don’t want to give any spoilers (which could be so easy to do with this story), but I will say this… once I was 20% of the way into the story, I was gripped. I enjoyed the banter between Ally and Belle and had more than a few giggles.

Book weaknesses:
I always feel the chemistry between Jean Copeland’s characters and honestly I would love more than fade to black. I think it would add an extra element of chemistry. Also, there wasn’t an Epilogue – that’s my favourite part of most books and I would have really loved one a few years down the track to see into the future with Belle and Ally.

Character Chemistry:
Ally was definitely my favourite character, and I think I may have finished this book with a little crush on her. Like I said before, the chemistry was there but I would have liked a little more and some sexy scenes.

Heat Rating: 🔥

Another enjoyable story from Jean Copeland with a bit of a difference. I think this book is definitely one to enjoy with a glass of wine near the warm fire.

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Screen Shot 2019-07-05 at 9.30.08 pm

 

If you would like to purchase The Ashford Place please follow the links below:

Amazon AU

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Reviewed at Les Revêur (23)

A Lesson In Love by Harper Bliss

This book knocked my socks off. 

What was the book about?
Helen is a professor at Oxford University; however, in her private life, she is the author of a lesbian mystery book series. When she meets Rory, the student who she will advise through her PHD, her life is thrown into a spin. Not only is she wildly attracted to Rory, which in itself is frowned upon (regardless of how mutual the attraction is), but she is also considering telling everyone her secret author identity.

Rory is drawn to Helen from the get-go and knows this is more than just a teacher crush. She just needs to convince Helen that the age gap and the student-teacher relationship isn’t an issue.

Featured Tropes:
Age Gap Romance/ Teacher-Student 

Book Strengths:
The writing in this book is excellent. Each chapter is told from one protagonist’s point of view. I loved this and how it fits in perfectly with the story and how both characters are going through very different experiences but their feeling for each other are very similar. I think their differences are what I enjoyed most. I love age gap romances, and honestly, this one is one of my favourites. I’m not surprised though because one of the best age gap romances is Seasons of Love by the same author. 

Helen is the character that changes the most in the book, and It was beautiful to ee. Usually, the younger character needs to change or grow up to fit in with the older character. It’s almost like Rory is the catalyst for all the changes Helen has been putting off and is now embracing. It was beautiful to watch her adopt her author persona.

Book weaknesses:
I would have really enjoyed an epilogue with a glimpse a few years later. 

Character Chemistry:
The chemistry between Helen and Rory is phenomenal. Their first sex scene was probably the most sensual I’ve ever read. Being in Rory’s head for that scene was exquisite and really showed how she felt about Helen, and it raised the intimacy level to another degree. I’m still in awe of that moment.

Heat Rating: 5

A great story and an awesome end to what is a fantastic series. I love Harper Bliss books, and this one was no different. She always leaves me wanting more. 

Star Rating: 4.5 Stars

 

Sailing News

 

If you like to purchase this book please follow the links below:

Amazon US

Amazon AU

Amazon UK

 

Reviewed at Les Revêur (22)

Spencer’s Cove by Missouri Vaun

Well, that was not what I was expecting!

What was the book about?
Abbie Spencer lives a secluded life. She is painfully shy and is in no way happy about the executor of her family’s estate employing mystery writer Foster Owen to write their family history.
Foster needs the money before she loses her house so she agrees to the terms of the contract because writing a family history novel should be easy right? It might even help her writer’s block. But it is far from easy, and as the story unfolds the biggest mystery to Spencer, is Abbie.
Their connection is undeniable and the more time they spend together, the stronger it gets. But other forces are at play. Can their love conquer all? 

Featured Tropes:
Butch-Femme / Paranormal/ Romance 

Book Strengths:
Missouri Vaun has this way of taking me into the word she has created and does not let me out until I’m finished the book. I read this book through the night and couldn’t put it down. So unlike what I expected but then by the end, I knew the story couldn’t have been told any other way. I just loved it from start to finish.

Character Chemistry:
The run-up to the sex scene was so intense and alarmingly hot. Watch out for the library scene, and it was just the build-up… Wow! Missouri Vaun definitely knows how to write great sex scenes, but I think her major strength is the pre-sexual build-up that heightens the sex scene to a new level. 

Heat Rating: 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

I’d really love more from this story and these characters. Evan, in particular, needs his own story. I am 100% behind this story being the first in a magical series. If one believed in magic, then one may think this story was true. It darn well felt like it.  

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Screen Shot 2019-07-05 at 9.30.08 pm

 

If you would like to purchase Spencer’s Cove please follow the links below:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon AU

 

Reviewed at Les Revêur (21)

 

 

After The Glitter Fades by Diane Marina

Can love conquered all?

What was the book about?:

Siena Arnetta has it all; fame, fortune, a loving family, loyal friends; but what she doesn’t have is the freedom to be herself. In order to protect her career, Siena has chosen to stay in the closet about her sexuality. Julia Westbrooke is an out and proud lesbian. She is also in the spotlight since she is becoming one of the biggest names in entertainment news. The friendship between these two women blooms into something bigger than either of them expected. Unfortunately, Siena being in the closet creates serious obstacles to their happiness.

Featured Tropes: Celebrity Romance; friends to lovers; secret romance

Book Strengths:

This book was certainly engaging. It was entertaining and well-paced. The characters were well developed and not the shallow Hollywood cutouts that sometimes appear in celebrity romances,

Book weaknesses:

The angst was over the top in the last third of the book. It wasn’t so bad I wanted to stop reading, but it did make me want to hurry the story up in a couple of places.

Character Chemistry:

I really did root for these women to find a way to be together. They clearly love each other and want to be together. Even when it seems like they may not find a way to make it work, I couldn’t help but have hope because I really wanted them to find their happy ever after.

Heat Rating: 3

I wouldn’t mind seeing these characters again.

Star Rating: 4

Screen Shot 2019-07-05 at 9.28.50 pm

 

 

 

 

If you would like to purchase this book please follow the links below:

Amazon US

Amazon AU

Amazon UK

 

Reviewed at Les Revêur (20)

Up on the Roof by A.L. Brooks

A Sweet, Authentic Romance!

What was the book about?:
Lena suffers from severe anxiety and OCD. She likes her apartment spotless, her routines uninterrupted, and does not handle change well, at all. Lena meets her new, klutzy neighbor, Megan, when she damages Lena’s door while moving in. With each encounter, Megan’s clumsiness further disrupts Lena’s routines making her dislike Megan more and more. When a storm hits destroying Lena’s apartment, she has no option but to accept Megan’s generosity and move into the spare bedroom of Megan’s very, messy apartment. Did I mention Lena suffers from OCD? As the two women learn to navigate living together, they also have to navigate their growing attraction.

Featured Tropes:
Enemies to lovers, slow burn

Book Strengths:
This book has a lot of strengths. The story is well written and the characters exceptionally well developed. The best part, it’s realistic. The characters are not models, they have self-esteem and mental health issues, and they are flawed, but genuine. A.L. Brooks has written a book that is truly about us, everyday women.

Book Weaknesses:
The only issue I had with this book is the ending. It wasn’t a bad ending, I would have just liked a more concrete wrap-up, or preferably, an epilogue.

Character Chemistry:

I adore Lena. As someone who suffers from OCD and anxiety, it is wonderful to see representation in the genre I love. The chemistry between Lena and Megan is sweet and undeniable. It’s also real. Once they decide to date, we see them take two steps forward and one step back each time Lena’s anxiety rears its ugly head.

Heat Rating: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

I look forward to reading more books by this author.

Star Rating:  ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Screen Shot 2019-07-05 at 9.28.50 pm

If you would like to purchase Up on the Roof please click the links below:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon AU

 

Reviewed at Les Revêur (19)

A Taste of Love by Clare Lydon

Can I move to the Cotswolds?

What was the book about?

Natalie is the village sweetheart. Everyone loves her; the only problem is she can’t find love. She has all but given up on love when Ellie crashes into her… literally! Ellie is from London originally, but she is ready for a quiet life in the Cotswolds with her newly opened Ice Cream parlour.

Neither women are looking for love, but love finds them, and with the usual wacky family members and village locals you are in for a wild ride!

Featured Tropes

Big City meets Small town, Village sweetheart, Small town romance.

Book Strengths:

Fantastic book! Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down and the late night/early morning finish was a testament to what a beautiful story it was. I especially loved the secondary characters in this book, especially Natalie’s Dad. He won my heart in a big way.

Book weaknesses:

I would have loved an epilogue for these two awesome ladies.

Character Chemistry:

Natalie and Ellie have chemistry in spades! The attraction was evident from very early on, and when they do finally get to the first kiss, it was explosive. The sexual tension and build-up was spectacular. I love how the author cultivated their passion for each other.

Heat Rating: 🔥🔥🔥🔥
Excellent novel and this new series is shaping up well. I can’t wait to start Harper Bliss’s book three in the Village Romance Series.

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (4.5 Stars)

 

If you would like to purchase A Taste of Love please follow links below:

Amazon US

Amazon AU

Amazon UK

 

Copy of Reviewed at Les Revêur

 

Lost in You by Jade Winters

Can’t fight that feeling!

What was the book about?:

Heidi Cross has dedicated her career to helping LGBTQ youth through her work as manager of Young Minds Centre. When the building where the centre resides is bought by a property developer, Heidi knows she has to do everything she can to save the centre, and that means ignoring the attraction she feels toward the company’s co-owner, Vanessa O’Neil. Vanessa is reeling from the death of her sister; trying to raise her troubled, teenage niece, Kelli; and keeping her unscrupulous brother in check. The last thing Vanessa needs is the bad publicity Heidi is creating for her company, and she certainly does not want the feelings Heidi has sparked in her. As Heidi and Vanessa continue to make missteps in their interactions with each other, they soon find out that denying their attraction is impossible

Featured Tropes:

Enemies to lovers; ice queen

Book Strengths:

The story is good. It is both classic and timely. It’s an interesting story, and even though you are rooting more for the centre’s survival, you also will want to root for Heidi and Vanessa as a couple. Sometimes secondary plots, like the one revolving around Kelli, can detract from the story. That is not the case here.

Book weaknesses:

One of my favorite parts of a book is the epilogue, but this one just fell flat for me. It was less part of the story and more like an episode of ‘Where are They Now’. 

Character Chemistry:

I really enjoyed the interactions between Heidi and Vanessa. It’s fun when the characters want to fight the attraction they are experiencing, yet fail miserably at it. Especially when it’s both fighting it at the same time. These are two very strong-willed women, yet they have very little self-control around each other.

Heat Rating: 3

Overall, this was a very nice story and worth reading.

Star Rating: 4

Click the link below to purchase your copy:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon AU

Reviewed at Les Revêur (18).png

Irregular Heartbeat by Chris Zhett

Be still my beating heart

 What was the book about?: Former rock star drummer, Diana Petrell, is giving medicine one last try and begins her E.D. residency for the second time. The first was 8 years before but the lure of stardom and the stage pulled her away. There are only two people who know her true identity, the Chief of Staff who hired her and her supervising attending, Dr Emily Barnes, a stiff, by the book woman. If anyone finds out about her previous career she will be fired before giving the hospital a bad name.

Featured Tropes   Ice Queen meets hot rock star.

Book Strengths: I have never read Chris Zett before and did not know what to expect. What I found was a well written and a new twist to a medical romance. I enjoyed this story very much and would read more of the writer.

Character Chemistry:

This is a slow burn romance but when it takes off it’s on fire. Diana is my favorite character. She is strong and driven. She does everything by the book. The other residents give her a hard time by the treatment she is allowed to do, not knowing this is her 2nd time around.

 Heat Rating: 🔥🔥🔥🔥

I enjoyed this story very much and would read more of the writer.

 Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

If you would like to purchase Irregular Heartbeat follow the links below:

Amazon AU

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Reviewed at Les Revêur (16)